Palangka Raya City

Palangka Raya is the capital city of the province of Central Kalimantan. Situated between the Kahayan and Sebangau rivers, it has a population of approximately 300,000 people today.

Being the largest municipality in Indonesia, the city has approximately four times the land area of Jakarta. Palangka Raya is at the center of most economic activity, governance, and education in Central Kalimantan. It is a new city, founded from the small Dayak village of Pahandut in 1957. 

Palangka Raya borders on Gunung Mas Regency to the north, Katingan Regency to the west, and Pulang Pisau Regency to the south and east. The city consists of five sub-districts (Kelurahan), namely Bukit Batu, Pahandut, Sabangau, Jekan Raya, and Rakumpit.

In the northern part of the municipality of Palangka Raya, the Bukit Batu program has now been running for more than 10 years, with a focus on improving the agricultural productivity and profitability of smallholders through integrated village development planning.